All Things Catholic: Interesting Comments on Catholicism


Are Catholics Christians?

Are Catholics Christians?

A reader of my blog HubBlogs with GADEL left some interesting comments about our Catholic religion after reading my article on Are Catholics Christians?

ImReady writes:

This is interesting, but, I wonder, do you, as a Catholic, give your complete trust in Jesus, knowing that He is the one and only way to the Father? You say you follow Jesus, but, I wonder just HOW important is He in your religion. You seem to give a lot of honor to Mary, but, she is just a dead human being. Sure, she was chosen by The Father to bear the Son, but, why worship her? It seems that by doing so, you are taking some of your praises away from Jesus. We should praise Jesus only. I wonder how much you follow Jesus. I also wonder how some of the Catholic priests can be pedophiles and ?follow Jesus? I also wonder why they are not punished by mans law, just like another member of this human race. I just wonder. I’ve always thought that if you are a Catholic, you are going to burn in hell. I only knew one Catholic priest, (retired) and he was one of the meanest, most profanity speaking “man of God” that I ever knew. He seemed to be full of the devil. SO, I have never had any respect for the Catholic religion. If Jesus isn’t the main focus of a person, they cannot be pleasing to God.
good day!

My response:

Hello ImReady,

I wonder, do you, as a Catholic, give your complete trust in Jesus, knowing that He is the one and only way to the Father?

Sure. I do and the Church teaches that, “Jesus saith to him: I am the way, and the truth, and the life. No man cometh to the Father, but by me.” (John 14:6 DRB)

You say you follow Jesus, but, I wonder just HOW important is He in your religion.

He is the Founder of our religion. No Jesus, No Catholic Church. “Wherever the bishop shall appear, there let the multitude [of the people] also be; even as, wherever Jesus Christ is, there is the Catholic Church.” (Letter to the Smyrneans 8:2 [A.D. 110]

Jesus is too important in our religion that is why we believe what he said about the Eucharist and also of the Church that the gates of hell shall not overcome it. We know that apart from Him we can do nothing. “I am the vine: you the branches. He that abideth in me, and I in him, the same beareth much fruit: for without me you can do nothing.” (John 15:5 DRB) We Catholics takes this word seriously.

You seem to give a lot of honor to Mary, but, she is just a dead human being. Sure, she was chosen by The Father to bear the Son, but, why worship her?

It is written, “Honour thy father and thy mother” (Exodus 20:12, Leviticus 19:3, Deuteronomy 5:16, Matthew 15:4, Mark 7:10, Ephesians 6:2), this commandment was fulfilled perfectly by our Lord Jesus Christ. He honoured His heavenly Father and His earthly mother. We are told to be imitators of Christ. (cf. 1 Corinthians 11:1, Ephesians 5:1) If our Lord did honour His mother Mary perfectly, then what stops us from doing so? Mary herself prophesied saying, “for behold from henceforth all generations shall call me blessed.” (Luke 1:48 DRB) Why? “Because he that is mighty hath done great things to me: and holy is his name.” she says. (Luke 1:49 DRB) Are you part of the generation that calls her blessed? Think about this. Pray about this please.

It seems that by doing so, you are taking some of your praises away from Jesus. We should praise Jesus only. I wonder how much you follow Jesus.

We are not taking any praises away from Jesus. We are rather fulfilling Scriptures as it is written, “behold from henceforth all generations shall call me blessed.” (Luke 1:48 DRB)

I follow Jesus with my body, mind, heart and soul just as it is taught in the Catholic Church.

I also wonder how some of the Catholic priests can be pedophiles and ?follow Jesus? I also wonder why they are not punished by mans law, just like another member of this human race. I just wonder.

Well, I also wonder why Jesus Christ the Son of the Living God Himself, the Second Person of the Blessed Trinity, the Alpha and Omega, the Lamb of God, the Lion of the tribe of Judah will choose 12 men as His apostles and one of them will be His betrayer? Does that proof that Jesus Christ was imperfect or not God? Certainly not! There are Judas’ in every generation of the Church of Christ just as the time of her Founder Himself.

The priesthood is not subject to man but God. That is why they are not usually punished by man’s law.

I’ve always thought that if you are a Catholic, you are going to burn in hell.

I also thought that all non-Catholics will go to hell.

I only knew one Catholic priest, (retired) and he was one of the meanest, most profanity speaking “man of God” that I ever knew. He seemed to be full of the devil.

That was a bad example exemplified by that priest. It’s quite unfortunate on his part. He is answerable to God who will judge every man according to his works. Not all Catholic priests are like him. I’ve met many Christ-like priests who are on fire for Christ and His works.

SO, I have never had any respect for the Catholic religion. If Jesus isn’t the main focus of a person, they cannot be pleasing to God.

It’s unfortunate that you saw the wrong side of things. Very unfortunate. I hope you start to have some respect for the Catholic religion and thanks for your sincere comments. God bless you.

Godwin

At least he has indirectly challenged me to make another video on Mariology. Catholic Fiction: Do Catholics Worship Mary?  — Watch out for this work. Thank you.

About

I'm Black, I'm Beautiful, I'm Blessed, I'm a Blogger, I'm Bold about God and His Catholic Church.

Tagged with: , , , , , , ,
Posted in Issues of Faith
2 comments on “All Things Catholic: Interesting Comments on Catholicism
  1. Paul G says:

    Excellent response, except that priests are subject to civil and criminal laws in addition to canon law. The Church is more actively reporting potential violations, and we should be equally disappointed that ministers of Protestant denominations and public school teachers seem to fall to immoral and criminal acts in like or greater proportions. Potential Divine retribution (and mercy) is greater because of scandal where a Catholic priest has abused a member of the flock entrusted to his care. Pax et bonum.

    • GADEL says:

      Hello Paul,

      Thanks a lot for the correction about “priests are subject to civil and criminal laws in addition to canon law.” God bless you always. Amen.

      Godwin

Leave a Reply

