Parents or Christ?


The love of God and the fear of hell will easily break such bonds.

Scripture, you will argue, bids us obey our parents. (Ephesians 6:1) Yes, but whoso loves them more than Christ loses his own soul. (Matthew 10:37) The enemy takes sword in hand to slay me, and shall I think of a mother’s tears? Or shall I desert the service of Christ for the sake of a father to whom, if I am Christ’s servant, I owe no rites of burial, (Luke 9:59-60) albeit if I am Christ’s true servant I owe these to all? Peter with his cowardly advice was an offense to the Lord on the eve of His passion; (Matthew 16:23) and to the brethren who strove to restrain him from going up to Jerusalem, Paul’s one answer was: “What mean ye to weep and to break my heart? For I am ready not to be bound only, but also to die at Jerusalem for the name of the Lord Jesus.” (Acts 21:13) The battering-ram of natural affection which so often shatters faith must recoil powerless from the wall of the Gospel. “My mother and my brethren are these whosoever do the will of my Father which is in heaven.” If they believe in Christ let them bid me God-speed, for I go to fight in His name. And if they do not believe, “let the dead bury their dead.” (Matthew 8:22)
~Saint Jerome, Letter 14:3 (To Heliodorus, Monk)

About

I'm Black, I'm Beautiful, I'm Blessed, I'm a Blogger, I'm Bold about God and His Catholic Church.

Tagged with: , , , , , , ,
Posted in Issues of Faith

Leave a Reply

It looks like the WordPress site URL is incorrectly configured. Please check it in your widget settings.

